Posted in Dear Sooz

Dear Sooz…an introduction

Dearsooz

When I was younger my mother once said to me, “you should start a column in The Advertiser called Dear Sooz, because people are always asking for your advice.”

I realised a few weeks ago, when a friend of mine asked me a “what should I do” question about her personal life, that my mum was right….people do always come to me for advice.

I’m not entirely sure why this has carried on into my adult life and why people come to me for advice all the time.

I’ve only just turned 33, I’m single, have no kids, and although I am very well known for being devoid of an “inside voice” and extremely opinionated, it’s only about issues that I’m passionate about. If anything I try REALLY hard to stay out of other people’s personal dramas, because let’s face it, we all have our own stuff going on and the last thing we need is everyone else’s drama to add to our own.

Now I’m not saying my age, status or lack of kids makes me useless to society – I’ve never been one to care about those things – I’ve always just thought a kind heart and non-judgemental attitude will get me further in life with people (call me naive). Plus, I just prefer to let me people come to me when they need advice or a listening ear and when they want me to intervene, I will. Maybe, a combination of all those things, plus the fact I have killer smile, is what makes people asking me for advice, so inviting.

The point I’m trying to make is that, I’ve decided to start that column, here on my blog.

It will occasionally feature questions posed by people, in complete anonymous form, but I assure you are very real. It could be a minor piece of advice or even a life changing piece of advice.

Hopefully, it will be a nice cathartic way for me to let go of everyone elses drama, and subsequently help the person in question and potentially somebody else reading my posts.

Also, for those of you I don’t know personally, I can still help if you want and I promise not to judge, so feel free to email me at dearsooz@hotmail.com

I’ll also welcome comments or additional advice on my column, but please remember bullying isn’t cool and neither is negative comments, so if you don’t have anything nice to say about the people asking for advice (or me for that matter), don’t say it at all.

Stay tuned for Dear Sooz…column one…I promise it won’t be anything like those one’s we all used to read in Dolly Magazine…bless them to bits!

Sooz

Follow me on Twitter @Suzanna_Parisi and use #DearSooz

Leave a Reply

